British rapper, singer & songwriter “AITCH” tops our AOTW


Harrison James Armstrong (born 9 December 1999), known professionally as Aitch, is a British rapper born in Moston, Manchester.

After leaving school he went to college and playe sports, but eventually dropped out and worked in construction with his grandfather.

FOUR: Straight Rhymez 1

Aitch to fame in 2018, following the success of his solo debut single “Straight Rhymez” in 2018.  Aitch posted the single on YouTube, which ended up garnering over 28 million views and brought him to the attention of rapper Stormzy.


  • He is a supporter of the football club Manchester United.
  • The name “Aitch” derives from the pronunciation of the letter ‘h’, which is the first letter of his given name.
  • His debut studio album Close to Home (2022) reached number two on the UK Albums Chart.

Three: Rain

Rain” is a song by British rapper, singer, songwriter, and record producer AJ Tracey and British rapper Aitch, featuring production credits from Tay Keith. The song was released on 6 March 2020 and it peaked number 3 on the UK Singles Chart. It garnered over 61M views on its official music video on YouTube and over 184M streams on Spotify. “Rain” reached number 3 on its first week of release, becoming the highest new entry behind “Blinding Lights” by The Weeknd and “Roses” by Saint Jhn. It also topped the Official UK Trending Chart on its release week, reflecting the songs that were popular online, on the radio and other media. The song went on to spend 3 weeks in the top ten and a total of 14 weeks in the top 40. It was also certified Platinum in the United Kingdom and Australia.

Two: Scary With A1 x J1

Garnering over 1M views on its official music video on YouTube and 3.6M streams on Spotify, Scary is a song by A1 x J1 and Aitch which was released on the 20th of October, 2023. It was produced by J Moon and Gjin Lipa , written by all three artists on the track. It also charted the number 88 spot on UK Charts.


  • On Your Marks (EP,2018)
  • AitcH20 (EP, 2019)
  • Polaris (EP, 2020)
  • Close to Home (2022)

Awards/ Nominations

  • The “Rain” song was nominated for the Brit Award for Song of the Year at the 2021 ceremony.
  • At the 2023 BRIT AWARDS, the song “Baby” was nominated for Song of the Year and he also won the Award for British Hip-Hop/ Grime/ Rap Act.
  • At the 2020 BRIT AWARDS, he was nominated for Best New Artist
  • At the 2020 New Musical Express(NME), he was included in the Essential New Artists for 2020.

Bonus: Baby

Baby” is a song by British rapper Aitch and American singer Ashanti. The song was released on 10 March 2022 by Capitol Records, as the lead single from his debut album, Close to Home. Ashanti is credited on the song due to “Baby” heavily sampling her song “Rock wit U (Awww Baby)“, from the album Chapter II (2003). It garnered over 20M views on its official music video on YouTube and over 100M streams on Spotify. It peaked top spots on UK Singles Charts, UK Hip-Hop: R&B Charts and Ireland Charts. It was also certifies Platinum in the United Kingdom.

One: Taste (Make It Shake)

Taste (Make It Shake)” is a song recorded by British rapper Aitch, released as the lead single from Aitch’s second extended play AitcH20 on 31 July 2019. The song was written by Aitch, Jake Jones, James Murray and Mustafa Omer, and produced by Whyjay. This song garnered over 50M views on its official music video on YouTube and Commercially, the song became Aitch’s first solo chart appearance on the UK Singles Chart when it debuted at number eight on 9 August 2019 – for the week ending dated 15 August 2019. It eventually peaked at number two.